Two Board Members Honored for 25 years of service by Anderson School District One

Mr. Fred Alexander and Ms. Nancy Upton were recognized on Tuesday, January 27, 2015 at the January School Board meeting by Anderson School District One and the South Carolina School Boards Association for 25 years of service to education.  They were presented with a commemorative pen by Superintendent David Havird during the regular school board meeting.

Executive Director-Elect for the SCSBA, Scott Price stated, “School board service is often stressful, consistently time-consuming, and rarely glamorous. But, there can be no higher purpose than to be entrusted by your community with the job of ensuring that their children have a strong educational foundation for success. This trust has been extended to you for a remarkable 25 years.”

Mr. Alexander serves as Chair for District One’s Board of Trustees. Ms. Upton serves as Vice chair and represents the Anderson One School Board on the Career and Technology Board.

Nationally, January is School Board Recognition Month and this year’s theme is “School Boards Stand Up 4 Public Schools.” All seven school board members (Mr. Fred Alexander, Ms. Nancy Upton, Mr. David Merritt, Dr. Doug Atkins, Ms. Brenda Ellison, Ms. Melissa Hood and Mr. Mike Wilson) clearly stand up for public schools, students, parents, teachers and administrators.

Superintendent David Havird said, “Mr. Alexander and Ms. Upton are true champions and advocates for public education. The district has absolutely benefited from their guidance, wisdom and expertise for the past 25 years. They have set a wonderful example of true public service through their dedication to serving our 9600 students, staff and communities that represent Anderson School District One.”

Alexander and Upton  
Pictured:  Fred Alexander and Nancy Upton